Archbishop Pérez to Ordain Five Permanent Deacons on June 8th

Archbishop Nelson J. Pérez will celebrate Mass and ordain five Permanent Deacons for service in our local Church at the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul on Saturday, June 8, 2024, at 10:00 AM.

Those being ordained as Permanent Deacons are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Christopher DeMaio, a member of Saint Margaret Parish in Narberth (Montgomery County).
  • John J. Ellis, Jr., a member of Our Lady of Peace Parish in Milmont Park (Delaware County).
  • Michael R. Fohner, a member of Saint Dorothy Parish in Drexel Hill (Delaware County).
  • Jaime A. Gándara, a member of Saint Bridget Parish in Philadelphia.
  • Robert J. Szipszky, a member of Saint Mary Magdalen Parish in Media (Delaware County).

Permanent Deacons serve as ordained clergy in the Roman Catholic Church. They may be single or married males. As ministers at the altar, permanent deacons assist the priest and bishop at the Liturgy. They proclaim God’s Word, preach and teach, baptize, may witness marriages, carry out funeral rites at the vigil and the grave, administer Holy Communion to the sick and dying, and perform other works of charity.

The Mass with Rite of Ordination will be streamed live at, Facebook Live at and beginning at 10:00 a.m. All are welcome to prayerfully participate in-person or via livestream.

Please click here for additional details.

Please follow and like us:
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial